Save the Date for the 2013 Advocacy Awards

By Mary Lauran Hall on January 28, 2013

Will you be in Washington, DC for the National Bike Summit? If so, save the date for the Alliance’s 2013 Advocacy Awards reception!



Advocates from BikeTexas, winners of 2012’s innovation award

Since 2009, the Alliance has solicited public nominations and recognized the individuals, organizations and business leaders who are propelling our People Powered Movement.

This year, the awards will be held at 8:30 on Monday, March 4, 2013 at RFD, located at 810 7th St NW in Washington, DC — just a short walk away from the National Bike Summit hotel.

Come see which organizations and advocates will take away awards for all of this year’s categories:

  • Advocacy organization of the year - Last year, WalkBoston carried this award back to Beantown in recognition of their work to organize and advocate for pedestrian rights. WalkBoston has set a high bar for success with a long list of infrastructure and policy victories, successful public events, and the innovative “Good Walking is Good Business” campaign. Which state or local advocacy organization will take the mantle?
  • Advocate of the year - Each year, a dedicated advocate is awarded this hard-earned award for their persistent efforts in the movement. Tireless Missouri advocate Eric Rogers of BikeWalkKC was declared Advocate of the Year in 2012 for dedicating countless hours to being a “constant, persistent, passionate voice” for biking and walking advocacy. Nominees for 2013 include movers and shakers from across the U.S. and Canada.
  • Business advocate of the year - This award is given each year to a company that goes above and beyond in supporting biking and walking advocacy initiatives. Last year, CLIF Bar took home the prize to celebrate their innovative 2 Mile Challenge, which spurred thousands of people to log their bike trips in the name of supporting bicycle advocacy.
  • Winning campaign of the year - Our work centers around setting ambitious goals for more walkable, bikeable communities, then achieving those goals through hard-earned campaign wins. This award will go to the advocacy organization that tackled and won the most impactful biking and walking campaign in the past year. Bike Delaware earned this award last year for their successful campaign to dedicate more state transportation funds to biking and walking projects and programs. 
  • Susie Stephens Joyful Enthusiasm Award - Awarded in memory of Alliance co-founder Susie Stephens, this award goes to an advocate who embodies Susie’s perseverance as an advocate and passion for biking and walking as a fun, economical means of transportation. 2012’s award went to Julie Field, founder of Undriving, for her successful and artistic efforts to empower citizens to reimagine travel habits.
  • Innovation Award - The innovation award goes to an organization that is pioneering or inventing new ways to promote biking and walking. Last year, BikeTexas took the award back to the Lone Star State for their works to cultivate support among the full spectrum of political perspectives and communities stakeholders.
  • Lifetime achievement award - A new award in 2013, this award honors an individual advocate’s lifelong efforts to promote bicycling and walking.

We hope to see you there!


0 comments | Add/View comments

Submit your comments
Only leaders of Alliance Member Organizations are able to post comments to the blog. Please log into the site and participate in the discussion.